Civil Service Commission


The Civil Service Commission plays a vital role in hearing employee appeals regarding disciplinary action.


The Civil Service Commission meets on an as-needed basis, usually in the evening.


  • Frank Chavez
    • Chairman
  • Erlinda Romo
    • Vice Chairman
  • Robert K. Fujisaki
    • Chairman
  • David Chow
    • Chairman
  • George Carney
    • Chairman

​Apply for Commission

  • Recruitment is closed at this time.

Commission Facts

  • Commissioners are appointed by the City Council when vacancies occur. 
  • The people who serve on the Commissions are volunteers, therefore there is no compensation for commissioners.
  • Elected officials cannot serve on any commission.
  • Commissioners are not allowed to serve on more than one commission at the same time.